Viva España

I am finally able to fulfill my dreams of my favorite emoji: the salsa dancer girl. 💃

IMG_6742

This year has been one of pain, growth, discovery, adjustment, and most importantly, one of self. My mother has always told all four of her children that your twenties are for learning who you are and what you want to be in this world. While this has not been what I ever envisioned for myself in 2016, it has taken so many months of reflection to realize that this is the best Plan B that God could have given me.

I am elated to announce that I have accepted a position as an au pair for the upcoming year in Spain with the sweetest family in the Barcelona city district. I am so excited to not only fulfilling a lifelong dream of visiting Spain but going beyond that to live there. I started learning Spanish in kindergarten and fell in love with the language. For 12 years, I took Spanish every day until I quite literally ran out of classes to take. I get to live out my dream of visiting the places I’ve learned so much about in a desk in Forsyth County in my daily lives. La Sagrada Familia iglesia, actual Picasso paintings, Park Güell, all on top of living a metro ride away from the Mediterranean Sea.

I will be moving at the end of August, which gives me a little over a month to get a year’s worth of clothes and goodbyes in order. I can’t wait to love on my people before I leave and make the most of the remaining four weeks I have stateside.

I know I’ve said it before, especially on this blog, but if someone would have told me a list of the things that would have happened to me in 2016, I would have laughed directly in your face. This master planner had it all figured out. But curve balls come and they don’t slow down, so you gotta practice hitting those out of the park when they come your way. The punches kept coming, but I’m learning how to weave and hit back.

This is my 20s version of Eat, Pray, Love. If self-discovery is what I’m after, then I am hoping to find it in Barcelona…or Santorini, or Rome, or London, or Amsterdam, or Versailles. I’m so immensely blessed for the events in my life to fall like they have in order to offer me this opportunity that was His plan from the beginning.

Adios  Estados Unidos y Viva España.

P.S. Y’ALL, my amazingly talented friend Hannah Marilyn took all of these pictures of me at a 7 am sunrise on a field. Not only is she amazingly talented, but she has been one of my longest friends from high school (bless). Check her stuff out and let her make you look as amazing as she made me.

One thought on “Viva España

  1. Good to hear from you and looks like some exciting and adventurous times ahead for you. All will be good, just trust in God and keep moving forwards>>>

    Like

Leave a Reply

